AI FRONT DESK HELPER
Comparison · Wakeman alternative

AI Front Desk Helper vs Wakeman

Both put an AI on a contractor's phone line. Wakeman is built to catch the calls you miss and book them into Jobber. AI Front Desk Helper is built to run the whole front office. Here's which one fits which shop, from what each company publishes.

By Drew Koch, owner of Gladiators Painting and founder of AI Front Desk Helper · Updated October 1, 2026

Short version. Wakeman answers the calls your team misses, spots emergencies, rings your on-call phone, and texts you the job. Plans are $149 a month for after-hours only, $349 for day and night with booking into Jobber, and $829 for heavy volume, with spam calls never billed and a 14-day trial with no card. AI Front Desk Helper is $297 to $997 a month. It answers calls and texts, books onto your Google Calendar after checking it's free, gives ballpark prices from your price sheet when you turn on the estimator (included on Elite, a $20/month add-on on Basic and Pro), follows up every quote, speaks Spanish, and on Elite runs outbound campaigns and shows revenue by lead source. If you run Jobber and mostly need missed and after-hours calls caught cheaply, look hard at Wakeman. If you use Google Calendar or another CRM, or your leaks are in pricing questions and quotes that go quiet, that's us.

Everything about Wakeman here is from its own website (wakeman.ai), read on October 1, 2026.

What Wakeman is

Wakeman is an AI answering service for plumbing, HVAC, electrical, roofing and restoration contractors, from Fabricate, LLC. Its homepage says it "answers the calls you miss, even at 2 a.m., and texts you the job."

It's built around the calls you don't pick up. How it works tells you to "forward only the calls you don't answer," so your phone rings first and Wakeman takes the call if nobody gets to it. You keep your number; the FAQ says they never port it away. On the call it:

Booking is off until you turn it on. Then, per its job booking page, it offers only "arrival windows you have set in Wakeman," books into Jobber, and "does not read your whole Jobber calendar." Without Jobber, the booking comes to you by text. Housecall Pro "is not generally available yet, and ServiceTitan is not supported." It mentions only the call-out fees you switch on, such as an after-hours fee, and won't "quote repair prices." It won't book an address it can't confirm. The FAQ says "It answers in English."

They also offer free tools on their site: a line check, a voicemail greeting generator and a missed-call calculator.

Where Wakeman is the better pick

Where it runs out for a contractor

Wakeman is focused on catching a call and getting the job to you, and it's careful about it: address checks, emergency words, booking only into windows you set. What its site doesn't cover, as of October 1, 2026:

One more thing to think through if you run Google Local Services Ads. Wakeman's own LSA page says it "does not make the charge go away," which is true of any answering system. With the forward-when-missed setup, your phone rings before Wakeman picks up, so set your forwarding to kick in quickly. Since October 1, an LSA call that rings past 20 seconds with nobody answering can be charged. (Our LSA guide covers this.)

Side by side

CapabilityWakemanAI Front Desk HelperNotes
Answers calls you miss, 24/7✓✓Wakeman: Front Desk and Dispatch plans; After Hours plan answers only when you're closed
Answers every call instantly, not just missed onesnot stated✓Wakeman's setup guide says to forward only the calls you don't answer. AIFDH can answer instantly or ring you first
Rings your on-call phone on an emergency✓✓AIFDH: up to three on-call phones in order, with a text briefing
Books the appointment✓✓Wakeman: windows you set, into Jobber (or by text). AIFDH: your Google Calendar with a free/busy check, Pro and up
Direct Jobber booking✓✕AIFDH sends leads to Jobber through Zapier
Google Calendar bookingnot stated✓
Ballpark prices on the phone✕✓Wakeman quotes only call-out fees you switch on, never repair prices. AIFDH: with the estimator turned on, a ballpark from your price sheet in 12 trades; your service call fee in the rest
Missed-call text-back✓✓
Follow-up on quotesnot stated✓AIFDH: texts at 24h, 3, 5 and 10 days, Pro and up
Spanish✕✓Wakeman's FAQ: "It answers in English."
Speed-to-lead texts for Angi, Thumbtack, Yelpnot stated✓
Outbound AI campaigns, review replies, revenue by lead sourcenot stated✓AIFDH: Elite
Spam calls not billed✓✕AIFDH counts every call's minutes; recognized robocalls are hung up mid-call
Free trial✓not statedWakeman: 14 days or 500 minutes, no card
No contract, no setup fee✓✓

Pricing, as published

Wakeman

PlanPriceIncludes
After Hours$149/moAnswers when you're closed. 300 minutes, then 59¢ a minute.
Front Desk$349/moAnswers day and night, books into Jobber when you turn it on. 750 minutes, then 39¢ a minute.
Dispatch$829/moEverything in Front Desk. 2,000 minutes, then 29¢ a minute.

All plans: emergency flagging, booking, spam never billed. No setup fee, no minimum term, cancel online. A minute is billed as a minute of the call ("3 min call = 3 min"). Read from wakeman.ai/pricing on October 1, 2026.

AI Front Desk Helper

PlanPriceIncludes
Basic$297/mo24/7 AI call answering, missed-call text-back, lead capture and CRM sync, call transcripts. 500 minutes.
Pro$497/moEverything in Basic plus Google Calendar booking with free/busy checks, SMS follow-up sequences (24h / 3d / 5d / 10d), website AI chat widget, appointment reminders, Facebook Messenger. 1,200 minutes.
Elite$997/moEverything in Pro plus outbound AI campaigns, AI revenue coaching by lead source, Google review response writer, objection detection, referral autopilot, franchise HQ rollup. 3,000 minutes.

Extra minutes are $0.30 and extra texts $0.10. The estimator (ballpark prices by phone and text, plus the instant quote page) is included on Elite and a $20/month add-on on Basic and Pro. Annual billing is two months free on every plan.

The honest comparison on price: an AI that answers day and night and books is $349 a month at Wakeman, with 750 minutes, if you're on Jobber. At AI Front Desk Helper it's $497 on Pro, with 1,200 minutes, booking onto Google Calendar, plus quote follow-up. Ballpark prices on the phone need the estimator, which is $20 a month on Pro and included on Elite. For after-hours-only coverage, Wakeman's $149 has no equivalent on our side.

Who should pick which

Pick Wakeman if you're a plumbing, HVAC, electrical, roofing or restoration shop on Jobber, your office answers most calls during the day, and you want the misses and the 2 a.m. emergencies caught for as little as possible.

Pick AI Front Desk Helper if you book on Google Calendar or another CRM, you're in a trade where callers want a ballpark price (junk removal, house cleaning, lawn care and the like) and you'll turn on the estimator, or the jobs you lose are lost after the first call: quotes nobody followed up, past customers nobody called back, and ad spend you can't trace to booked work.

Most shops shouldn't run both. They'd be two AIs on the same phone. Pick the one that fixes your biggest leak.

I built AI Front Desk Helper, so read this with that in mind. Everything about Wakeman here comes from their own website, read on October 1, 2026. If something's wrong or has changed, email drew@aifrontdeskhelper.com and I'll fix it.

Questions contractors ask

How much does Wakeman cost?

Wakeman's pricing page lists After Hours at $149/month with 300 minutes, Front Desk at $349/month with 750 minutes, and Dispatch at $829/month with 2,000 minutes. Extra minutes are 59, 39 or 29 cents depending on the plan. Spam calls aren't billed, there's no setup fee or minimum term, and there's a 14-day trial with no card.

Does Wakeman work with Google Calendar?

Its site doesn't mention Google Calendar. Wakeman books into Jobber once you turn booking on; without Jobber, the booking is texted to you. AI Front Desk Helper books onto your Google Calendar after checking the time is free.

Does Wakeman answer every call or only missed calls?

Wakeman's setup guide says to forward only the calls you don't answer, so your phone rings first. Its After Hours plan answers only when you're closed. AI Front Desk Helper can answer every call instantly or ring your phone first, your choice.

Does Wakeman quote prices?

Only call-out fees you switch on, such as an after-hours fee. Its FAQ says it does not quote repair prices. With its estimator turned on (included on Elite, $20/month on Basic and Pro), AI Front Desk Helper gives a ballpark from your own price sheet in 12 trades and quotes your service call fee in the others.

Which one is cheaper?

Wakeman, if you're on Jobber and need answering and booking: $349/month, against $497 for AI Front Desk Helper's Pro plan. For after-hours-only coverage, Wakeman's $149 plan has no equivalent here. AI Front Desk Helper costs more and adds quote follow-up, Google Calendar booking, Spanish and, on Elite, outbound campaigns and revenue by lead source.

Is AI Front Desk Helper a Wakeman alternative for painters and other trades?

Yes. Wakeman's pages are written for plumbing, HVAC, electrical, roofing and restoration. AI Front Desk Helper was built inside a painting company, and with the estimator turned on it gives ballpark prices from your own price sheet in 12 trades, including junk removal, house cleaning, pressure washing and lawn care.

See it on your own phone line

Fifteen minutes. We call your business number, run a real call, and show you what happens after it. You decide.

Book a demo

Related: best AI receptionists for contractors, vs Jobber AI Receptionist, answering service vs AI receptionist, and Google LSA missed-call charges.